September 28, 2016

2781 LITHUANIA (Šiauliai) - Hill of Crosses

Located about 12km north of the city of Šiauliai, in northern Lithuania, the Hill of Crosses is an historical and architectural monument, a unique composition of folk art. It attracts people with its peace, spirituality, and sacred nature. The oblong mound stands on a plain and is surrounded by the valleys of Kulpė Stream and its nameless tributaries. The hill itself is the Jurgaičiai-Domantai mound, which sits next to a former ancient village that was here in the 13th-14th centuries.

September 27, 2016

2780 FRANCE (Saint Martin) - Caribbean cuisine

Caribbean cuisine is the simple result, without artifice, of an osmosis of all the peoples who made a stopover in this region, a fusion of African, Amerindian, European, East Indian, Arab and Chinese cuisine, which reflects the way of being and living of a people, but also its history. Accras de morue (cod fritters), also known as marinade of the West Indies, a denomination little used now to avoid confusion with the marinade of French cuisine, are of African origin. In the Ewe language, the word means vegetable fritters. In the form of small donuts, they are usually served as a mise en bouche, as appetizer, or as entrée

2779 HUNGARY - The locomotive no. 376.631, class 376

During the last two decades of the 19th century the number of branchlines in Hungary increased quickly, almost all of them as private initiatives. The builders made use of the state grants and real estate speculations, but when getting ready, they left the operation for the State Railway, MÁV. This happened usually using the "Standard Contract", which foresaw all parts of the railroad to be built according MÁV standards. The most branchline companies built on the cheapest way that was allowed by the "Standard Contract", resulting light rails capable only for axle loads as light as 10 metric tons.

September 26, 2016

2778 ISRAEL - Haifa

2778 Crossing Balfour-Herzl Street in Haifa

Haifa, the third-largest city in Israel, is situated on the Israeli Mediterranean Coastal Plain, the historic land bridge between Europe, Africa, and Asia, and the mouth of the Kishon River. Located on the northern slopes of Mount Carmel and around Haifa Bay, the city is split over three tiers. The lowest is the center of commerce and industry including the Port of Haifa. The middle level is on the slopes of Mount Carmel and consists of older residential neighborhoods, while the upper level consists of modern neighborhoods.

2777 FRANCE (Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) - Corenc

Corenc is a commune in the Isère département in southeastern France, in the Alps, an upscale suburb of Grenoble.

2776 ROMANIA - Greetings from Romania

At the end of the 19th century and the beginning of 20th century were issued numerous postcards "Greetings from Romania" with images depicting people in traditional costumes and scenes of rural life. The one from the image is a contemporary reproduction of such a postcard, slightly modified from the original. Text on the front was rearranged to occupy the right side, back then intended for writing message (on the most postcards issued before 1898 the back was undivided, and the writing was not allowed on the side with the address up in 1907).

September 25, 2016

2774 FRANCE (Saint Barthélemy) - The flamboyant tree

Flamboyant tree or Royal poinciana (Delonix regia) is a species of flowering plant in the bean family Fabaceae, subfamily Caesalpinioideae, noted for its fern-like leaves and flamboyant display of flowers. It is endemic to the Madagascar's dry deciduous forests but has been introduced into tropical and sub-tropical regions worldwide. In the wild it is endangered, but it is widely cultivated elsewhere. In many tropical parts of the world it is grown as an ornamental tree.

2773 CHINA (Inner Mongolia) - Camel racing

The Bactrian camel (Camelus bactrianus), the camel with two humps, is one of the tavunhorshoo (five snouts), the five domesticated animals on which the mongolian's herding economy depends (horse, cow/yak, sheep, goat, and camel). With its tolerance for cold, drought, and high altitudes, it enabled the travel of caravans on the Silk Road. A Bactrian camel can go nine days without water, 33 days without food.

2772 ITALY (Campania) - Mount Vesuvius

2772 Vesuvius in 1941

Mount Vesuvius is a stratovolcano in the Gulf of Naples, about 9km east of Naples and a short distance from the shore. It is one of volcanoes which form the Campanian volcanic arc, and consists of a large cone partially encircled by the steep rim of a summit caldera caused by the collapse of an earlier much higher structure. It is best known for its eruption in AD 79 that led to the burying and destruction of the Roman cities of Pompeii, Herculaneum, and several other settlements. Vesuvius has erupted many times since and is the only volcano on the European mainland to have erupted within the last hundred years.

September 24, 2016

2770, 2771 ROMANIA (Sibiu) - The Historic Centre of Sibiu and its Ensemble of Squares (UNESCO WHS - Tentative List)

2770 Sibiu in 1898
Located in Transylvania, Romania, Sibiu (German: Hermannstadt) straddles the Cibin River, a tributary of the river Olt. The first official record referring to the Sibiu area comes from 1191, when Pope Celestine III confirmed the existence of the free prepositure of the German settlers in Transylvania, the prepositure having its headquarters in Sibiu, named Cibinium at that time. The colonization of Transylvania by Germans was begun by King Géza II of Hungary (1141-1162), the main task of the Transylvanian Saxons being to defend the southeastern border of the Kingdom of Hungary.

2771 The Big Square in Sibiu in 1900

Although Sibiu is an ancient settlement dating from Neolithic, the overall form and shape of the city is medieval. Its evolving lines of strong fortifications, together with its characteristic street pattern, squares and building plots, developed and grew especially following the Tatar invasion of 1241. In the 14th century, it was already an important trade centre, and from 1366 onwards became known as Hermannstadt. In 1376, the craftsmen were divided in 19 guilds. Sibiu became the most important ethnic German city among the seven cities that gave Transylvania its German name Siebenbürgen (literally seven citadels).