April 1, 2016

SPAIN - Works of Antoni Gaudí (UNESCO WHS)

Seven properties built by the architect Antoni Gaudí (1852-1926) in or near Barcelona testify to Gaudí's exceptional creative contribution to the development of architecture and building technology in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. These monuments represent an eclectic, as well as a very personal, style which was given free reign in the design of gardens, sculpture and all decorative arts, as well as architecture.

His work is rooted in the particular character of the period, drawing on the one hand from traditional Catalan patriotic sources and on the other from the technical and scientific progress of modern industry. Gaudí's work is a remarkable reflection of all these different facets of society and has a unique and singular character. In fact, his works are particularly associated with Modernisme, and in this sense, Gaudí can be regarded as the most representative and outstanding of the Modernista architects.

The seven buildings included in the serial property designated an UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1984 under the name Works of Antoni Gaudi and extended in 2005 are the following (all presented on the blog):
Parque Güell (inscribed in 1984)
Palacio Güell (inscribed in 1984)
Casa Milá (inscribed in 1984)
Casa Vicens (inscribed in 2005)
Gaudí’s work on the Nativity façade and Crypt of La Sagrada Familia (inscribed in 2005)
Casa Batlló (inscribed in 2005)
Crypt in Colònia Güell (inscribed in 2005)

Other works of Gaudí featured in this blog
El Capricho - Comillas (Cantabria)

Works of Antoni Gaudí - UNESCO official website

No comments:

Post a Comment